Living as a Senior: Williamsburg, VA

There is a new world awaiting me as a Senior.  For the years between 55 and 65, I chose to bury my head in other things so I didn’t have to think too much about being 65 and older.  I believe that I truly thought I wouldn’t live long enough to experience this (frequent, scary headaches since I was young, high cholesterol, high blood pressure – and I refuse to take ‘meds’ in spite of dire warnings about strokes and such). 

It wasn’t until I shut down a long career as a Realtor, a couple friends moved states away, and some other friends were learning new skills, were being active in volunteering, special interests, and LifeLong Learning groups, that I began to seriously think of what I really wanted to do.  My situation also requires that I earn some money to help with overhead!!

After studying and trying a few different job options, I began a research project on ME.  I asked myself, “What have I not had the opportunity to do that I really want to do and could possibly earn an income from it?

And…..could I do this on my own time and schedule?  Also….it can’t involve undue hardship on my body, but would provide contact with the public and result in a service that will have positive impact on others and myself.

Well……wandering through a Barnes and Noble’s store one day with my Spiritual Companion, I prayed silently, “Lord, help me find my passion and my talent.”  Suddenly, before me on an end-piece display was a selection of books on the subject of internet based careers.  My eyes went directly to a book titled “ProBlogger” by Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett.  The subtitle sold it to me!!!:  “Secrets for Blogging Your Way to a Six-Figure Income.”

I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I could actually write and be instantly published and have an opportunity to not only positively impact thousands of people, but help myself in so many ways.

Oh, boy…..I thought, at least a thousand times as I read my way through the book…..I could NEVER learn how to do ALL the recommended things necessary to be extremely successful.  But, then, I thought, “What if I earned only about $500 a month for each of two blogs?  That would mean I wouldn’t have to work a part-time job that brutalizes my aging legs and body for a pittance wage and gives me no satisfaction in other ways.  Also, with doing research, interviewing people, attending various meetings, tracking current events and then writing my posts would be teaching me new skills along with what I already know.  After all, I have always wanted to produce valuable works of the written word…..here is my big chance!

So……I began a fantastic voyage the first week of November 2009 by setting up two blogs.  Hello my new life living as a Senior in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blog Journal, LifeLong Learning, Senior Living, Senior Statistics

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

